nascentnovelist

October 14, 2012

The Right Place to Write

Filed under: Uncategorized — nascentnovelist @ 7:59 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

What constitutes “right” when it comes to a place to write is elusive and according to taste. Do you need silence? Noise? Music? People around you? Privacy? I can’t answer these questions for you, but I can give you an example of the perfect place to write for me.

Ninth Street Espresso in LES – New York.

Music: soft electronica, mild country or Leonard Cohen.
Drip Coffee: round, dark, with just a hint of bitterness.
Lattes: damn near perfect, in a range of sizes, all deliciously blended.
Charging possibilities: plentiful.
Wifi: free.
Clientele: a good mix ranging from seniors to hipsters to families.
Sound level: low, with a buzz of conversation. Haven’t broken out the headphones yet.

In my opinion, Ninth Street has it all. Plenty of seats at 1-2 man tables with just enough space to put a coffee cup and a computer. Good chairs. Great coffee (yes, I’m a bit of a coffee snob, so this has become one of my main criteria for a place to write). Friendly staff that do not mind long bouts of writing interspersed with few purchases of coffee. This is a place where people come to work, and it shows. If I could bring this coffee shop with me wherever I went, I’m pretty sure I’d be more productive.

What’s the perfect writing place for you? Inquiring minds want to know.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

