nascentnovelist

August 8, 2012

Do You Read Sutter Cane?

Filed under: Uncategorized — nascentnovelist @ 9:12 pm
Tags: , ,

What is it that makes some lines stick? Is it the jolted shock of a well-placed comma, the tightness of the prose, the hidden beauty in the smallest words?

Some books and movies have one or two of those memorable lines. Others have none. And a few choice works have many. In the Mouth of Madness, by John Carpenter, is one of the films that I can quote even though I haven’t seen it for a decade. Some of the lines aren’t that good, but they stick. For years.

Alice Munroe has a tendency to get at least one unforgettable line in with each short story. That’s a gift. Park Chan-wook’s vengeance trilogy only has one, but what a line. I’m sure you remember it, but let me refresh your memory anyway. Remember this: “Be it a rock or a grain of sand, in water they sink as the same.”

Some sentences hit just right and stay with you forever. If I can craft just one of those in my life, I think I’d be happy. If it was the opening line to one of my novels, I know I would be.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

