nascentnovelist

November 15, 2011

Trends and What To Do With Them

Filed under: Uncategorized — nascentnovelist @ 4:27 pm
Tags: , , ,

Trends. There’s a new one each year. One year book stores, movie theaters and television screens were filled with Vampires, the next year: Werewolves. Zombies have taken over everyday consciousness to the point where almost everybody has a strategy for survival in case of an outbreak.

But this year, the hip, new trend is fairy tales. It started with Tim Burton’s re-imagining of Alice in Wonderland, followed by the Red Riding Hood movie. Then ABC announced their new TV series Once Upon A Time almost at the same time as NBC announced their new series Grimm. And then we learned that we’re not going to get just one, but two movies based on the famous fairy tale Snow White (in addition to a comedy about Hansel and Gretel as witch hunters). There’s the quirky comedy Mirror Mirror (not to be confused with the horror movie from 1990 bearing the same title) and Snow White and the Huntsman. I would show you both trailers, but since I couldn’t find Mirror Mirror anywhere, I’ll just show you Snow White and The Huntsman, because it’s epic:

When I first started writing, I spent a long time worrying about trends. How could I stay ahead of the them? How could I pitch something that was just ahead of the curve enough to entice, but not too far ahead or behind to hit the mark? Then I realized that since it takes years to perfect a manuscript, my story ideas will just have to work on their own merit. If I’m lucky, the stars will align and my story will hit exactly the right slot once I’ve finished it, and if not, perhaps the next one will. And, as we can see with Snow White and the Huntsman vs Mirror Mirror: sometimes there’s room for more than one.

Remember to check back in tomorrow for Writer Wednesday with Julie Ragnhild Andersen from According to Julie.

2 Comments »

  1. My biggest problem with the Snow White and the Huntsman movie is that they have Kristen Stewart cast as Snow White. I don’t think she has the ability to play Snow White. I don’t think she has the acting chops needed to play a chunk of wood. She is a horrible actress and the sooner she falls from the Hollywood spotlight the better.

    Comment by sandchigger — November 15, 2011 @ 5:47 pm | Reply

    • I know. I just hope the trailer gives an accurate estimate on her amount of screen time: 95% evil queen 3% huntsman 2% Steward.

      Comment by nascentnovelist — November 16, 2011 @ 11:45 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

